Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Workers' Compensation

Constituent Services

Introduction

In order to help the public better understand the Kentucky Workers' Compensation System, the legislature in 1994 created the Workers' Compensation Ombudsman program. The role of an ombudsman is spelled out in KRS 342.329.


Functions of an Specialists

Generally the specialists provide five functions:

  • Serve as a neutral and reliable information source for employees, employers, medical providers and other program participants.
  • Respond to inquiries and complaints about the system and participants in the program.
  • Advise all parties of their rights and obligations under Kentucky Workers' Compensation Law.
  • Mediate disputes.
  • Perform other duties as required by the Commissioner.

In 1996, the legislature created the Workers' Compensation Specialist program to further assist the public as a low-cost means to resolve disputes as to entitlement to benefits and expedite delivery of service to injured workers. Specialists perform many of the same duties as the previous ombudsmen.

In addition, specialists:

  • Assist workers in obtaining medical reports and other documents necessary for a claim for benefits and assist in completing claim forms.
  • Facilitate evaluation of injured workers to ascertain the feasibility of vocational rehabilitation.

All specialists are knowledgeable about Kentucky Workers' Compensation and applicable procedures. Specialists are located in two sites in Kentucky.

Offices

Frankfort – Main Office

Phone: 800-554-8601
Fax: 502-564-9533
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Division Director

Bill Ransdell
502-782-7381
George.Ransdell@ky.gov

Chief Workers' Compensation Specialist

John W. Mann
502-782-4532
JohnW.Mann@ky.gov

Specialists

Tara Aziz
502-782-4555
Tara.Aziz@ky.gov
Vickie Estill
502-782-4475
Vickie.Estill@ky.gov
Lucretia Johnson
502-782-4443
Lucretia.Johnson@ky.gov
Veronica Mattingly
502-782-4515
Veronica.Mattingly@ky.gov
Christy Tandy
502-782-4443
Christy.Tandy@ky.gov

Staff Attorney/Assistant General Counsel

Tom Dockter
502-782-4527
Thomas.Dockter@ky.gov

Pikeville Office

Phone: 606-433-7661
Fax: 606-433-7798
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Specialist

Paula Hampton
Paula.Hampton@ky.gov

Additional Questions

 Specialists
kywcombuds@ky.gov