Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Workers' Compensation

Administrative Law Judges


The governor shall appoint, with the consent of the Senate, for a term of four years, not more than 19 administrative law judges (ALJs), each of whom shall be an attorney and shall have five years’ experience in the commonwealth in the practice of workers’ compensation law or a related field and extensive knowledge of workers’ compensation law.


{KRS 342.230 (3).} These administrative law judges shall conduct hearings, and otherwise supervise the presentation of evidence and render final decisions, orders or awards regarding workers’ compensation claims. The administrative law judges may, when receiving evidence, make rulings affecting the competency, relevancy, and materiality of the evidence about to be presented and upon motions presented during the taking of evidence that will expedite the preparation of the case.

One of the administrative law judges shall be appointed as a chief administrative law judge, to provide supervision and educational opportunities, to assist the commissioner by doing the ALJ scheduling and to handle dockets for the other judges when absences occur due to emergencies and illnesses.

Administrative Law Judges

Search by Keyword