
Criteria for Timely filing of Edi Claims/Proof of Coverage 

 
EDI Timely Filing Documentation 

 

As of September 1, 2011, the Kentucky DWC will be reviewing the files of the 00 Originals, 
Suspensions and the Initial Payments as before for timely filing.The Kentucky Department of 
Workers’ Claims will begin assessing penalties for timeliness on Bimonthly EDI Claims MTC 
codes as well as timeliness on Proof of Coverage submittals.  The penalty phase will begin July 
1, 2012.  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Cam Lawson at 502-782-
4486or via email at HowardC.Lawson@ky.gov. 

Timely Filing of Under Investigation 
Timely Filing of UI shall use the following criteria: 
There are 30 days to utilize the UI MTC Code. After that initial 30 days, the timely filing for 00, 
04 or AU/AQ kicks in and the timeframe below applies. For example, a UI is reported to DWC on 
6/1/2011. A FROI would be expected and timely if reported by July 10, 2011 (40 Days). 

 
Timely Filing of 00 Originals and 04 Denials 
Timely Filing of 00s and 04s shall use the following criteria: 
<=10 days between Employer Report Date and Date Received by DWC = Timely 
11‐25 days between Employer Report Date and Date Received by DWC = Untimely without 
Penalty >=26 days between Employer Report Date and Date Received by DWC = Penalty 

 
Timely Filing of Suspensions 
Timely Filing of Suspensions shall use the following criteria: 
<8 days between Benefit Period Through Date and Date Received by DWC = Timely 
8‐21 days between Benefit Period Through Date and Date Received by DWC = Untimely without 
Penalty >=22 days between Benefit Period Through Date and Date Received by DWC = Penalty 

 
Timely Filing of Initial Payments 
Timely Filing of Initial Payments shall use the following criteria: 
<15 days between Benefit Period Start Date and Date Received by DWC = Timely 
15‐21 days between Benefit Period Start Date and Date Received by DWC = Untimely without 
Penalty >=22 days between Benefit Period Start Date and Date Received by DWC = Penalty 

***Scrutiny upon the timeliness of filings was reinstated on September 1, 2011 after everyone became 
acclimated to EDI Claims Release 3.0. 
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BiMonthly Filing and Proof of Coverage Criteria 

 

Bimonthly Filing Criteria 

 
Per KRS 342.038(5) ....if the disability extends beyond a period of sixty (60) days, then also at the 
expiration of that period, the employer shall make a supplementary report to the executive director... 

 
Timely Filing of BMs shall use the following criteria: 

 
<=70 days between benefit period start date and date BM received by DWC ‐ Timely 
71‐85 days between benefit period start date and date BM received by DWC –Untimely without penalty 
>=86 days between benefit period start date and date BM received by DWC – Penalty 

 
Proof of Coverage Criteria 

 
KRS 342.340 States that proof must be filed within 10 days after issuance of policy, endorsement to a 
policy of similar documentation of coverage, so: 

 
<= 10 days between policy effective date (DN0029) and jurisdiction designee received date (DN 0302)‐‐‐ 
Timely 
11‐25 days between policy effective date (DN0029) and jurisdiction designee received date (DN 0302)‐‐‐ 
Untimely without penalty 
>=26 days between policy effective date (DN0029) and jurisdiction designee received date (DN 0302)‐‐‐‐ 
Penalty 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



BiMonthly Reports – Frequently Asked Questions 

 
1) When is a bimonthly filing necessary? Per KRS 342.038(5)... ....if the disability extends 
beyond a period of sixty (60) days, then also at the expiration of that period, the employer shall 
make a supplementary report to the executive director. 

 
2) What are the penalty exposure amounts for the SROI Bimonthly MTC? According to 
KRS 342.990(7)(a) any employer, insurer, or payment obligor subject to this chapter who 
fails to make a report required by KRS 342.038 within fifteen (15) days from the date it 
was due, shall be fined not less than one hundred ($100) nor more than one thousand 
dollars ($1000) for each offense. 

 
3) If indemnity has never been paid on a claim, would we be required to file a BM MTC 
report on claims that are open for Medical Only? No 

 
4) If ongoing payments are being made that end during the Bimonthly period, will this be 
reported as a S(xx)? Yes. If benefits are exhausted, no further bimonthly reports are 
due. 

 
5) The notice we received states the penalty phase will begin on 7/1/12. Will you be going 
back to assess fines for past due reports that were late filed or will this simply be going 
forward from the July 1 date? Any claim that was established under EDI Claims Release 
3.0 in which benefits are being paid beyond a 60 day period, a Bimonthly report should 
be submitted. 

 
6) Who determines the amount of the fine? The penalties that will be assessed are 
determined by the Commissioner of the DWC. 

 
One last note: The information that was placed on the web site originally is being 
altered after discussions with several of the carriers. It was determined that we would 
utilize the Benefit Period Start Date on the BM and the date the BM is received by the 
DWC to determine timeliness. This has been updated on the web site. See below: 

 
Timely Filing of Bimonthly Reports shall use the following criteria: 

 
<=70 days between benefit period start date (on the BM) and date BM received by DWC ‐ Timely 
71‐85 days between benefit period start date (on the BM) and date BM received by DWC –Untimely 
without penalty 
>=86 days between benefit period start date (on BM) and date BM received by DWC – Penalty 


